Gardener Q's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homemade self-watering plant bucket May 7, 2010

Filed under: DIY — gardenerq @ 11:50 AM
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes when I don’t have time to go to the big garden I amuse myself with plants around the house.  As I have mentioned before, there aren’t too many sunny spots around the house due to several humongous pine trees.  The only locations that receive consistent sunlight are the driveway (concrete) and the deck (wood).  So I have quite a few plants in pots and containers.  I like to grow vegetables in 3 and 5 gallon pots.  Recently I ran across a plan for a DIY self-watering bucket at Dave’s Garden.  This is the simplest design that I have seen.  So, of course I had to try it out.

Here are the parts of my homemade self-watering planter.  I used my serrated knife as a tool.  It worked great for cutting through the colander rim, carving a hole for the boba straw, and for cutting the PVC pipe.  (You know how it is… man needs a hammer and a screw driver to fix things, whereas a woman just uses a heavy mug and a butter knife.  :-P).

Materials for the self-watering bucket: serrated knife, boba straw, PVC pipe, colander, and Homer bucket.

As you can see, the colander fits inside the bucket.  The big hole is where the PVC pipe will go through from the top and the small hole is where the straw will go through from the side.

Top view of bucket

Top view with straw and pipe inserted

And here it is….with tomato plants.  (Yes, I love dark tomatoes.)

Buckets with Chocolate Stripes (left) and Japanese Black Trifele (right).

The colander creates a “reservoir” at the bottom and holds about 1.5 gallons of water.  Watering in done via the PVC pipe.  Plant draws moisture as needed.  And we all know that even watering equals happy plants!

Don’t you just want to go out and make one for yourself now?

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.