Gardener Q's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hello world! April 19, 2010

Filed under: community garden,raise-bed gardening,vegetables — gardenerq @ 3:55 PM
Tags: ,

I am your average home-gardening enthusiast.  When I was growing up in Portland, Oregon our house had a small garden in the backyard.  We had a friend who knew a lot about gardening and he helped us till the soil and prepare our vegetable beds. He taught my mom about companion planting and planting with the phase of the moon.  I must confess that I didn’t pay that much attention to any of it back then.

Fast forward a few decades and here I am, in Zone 9b, with a few fruit trees in the backyard and a few tomato plants in containers.  I also have a couple of vegetable beds in the front yard where I grew corn and lettuce last summer.  We don’t have enough sunny areas around the house to have a vegetable bed so I rented a couple of plots from the city’s Community Garden.  The plots are 15 ft x 15 ft and I was lucky enough to get two that are next to each other.  I got the plots last fall but was too busy to get them going.  This spring I vowed to start anew.

My rented plots

Oh, I almost forgot.  I also have a smaller plot at a different community garden.  That one is only 10 ft x 10 ft.  I’ve had that one for a year now.  It is also a raised-bed plot but I didn’t use the layering method.  I just used a garden “soil” mix.

My small plot...last year.

Some of the harvest

I was able to grow and harvest some corn, Swiss chard, green bean, cabbage, snow pea, mini pumpkin, okra, and yellow squash.  Pretty cool for a little plot, huh?

I will chronicle my progress and congress here.  It’s my way of sharing the fruits/veggies of my labor.

 

Leave a Reply

